Refreshed direction and new members

Pānui Pāpāho

The Te Mātāwai National Hui 2021 was held in Rotorua last week with Board, Pae Motuhake members and Staff from across the country to engage the new strategic direction for Te Mātāwai over the next four years.  The five core outcomes of whānau wellbeing, intergenerational transmission, immersion domains, grassroots Māori language movements and the language as part of our national identity were discussed by mixed panel members. Ultimately, these will help us progress towards the major goal under Te Maihi Māori, “kia ūkaipō anō te reo Māori.”

At the hui, speakers also acknowledged the departure of two founding Board members, Robin Hapi (Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Raukawa) and Mereana Selby (Ngāti Raukawa) who, along with former co-chair and current Board member, Te Waihoroi Shortland (Ngāti Hine), gave immeasurable service to ensuring the Māori language will continue to flourish, not only within homes and whānau, but across hapū, iwi and Māori communities.  

“The tireless commitment and advocacy that our outgoing Board members have brought to te reo Māori revitalisation, not only in the five years they have been with Te Mātāwai, but over decades, has been without parallel.  Te Mātāwai is proud to be able to count these three rangatira and reo champions among its alumni” said current Co-Chair Reikura Kahi.
Two term Crown appointee and businessman Robin Hapi, who with Mereana Selby and Te Waihoroi Shortland, joined the Board when it was originally established with the passing of Te Ture mō Te Reo Māori 2016 signalled late 2020 that he was looking to step back from Te Mātāwai. 

“So, while Robin’s formal departure from the Board in March was not unexpected, we remain saddened to be losing a governor of Robin’s calibre. His replacement is currently in the hands of Māori Development Minister, Hon Willie Jackson and we look forward to welcoming our new Crown appointee in due course” said current Co-Chair Charlie Tepana.

Educationalist and former Co-Chair Mereana Selby, joined Te Mātāwai as its Mātauranga representative in 2016.  Currently the Tumu Whakarae of Te Wānanga o Raukawa, Mereana is recognised as having dedicated her personal and professional life to promoting, practising, and influencing Māori language revitalisation. Mereana oversaw the development of Te Mātāwai through those early establishment years alongside fellow Co-Chair Te Waihoroi Shortland, ensuring a strong foundation and presence of Te Mātāwai in the Maori language revitalisation landscape. 

Mereana, whose term on the Board ends this month, is being succeeded by Brenda Soutar, former Principal at Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Mana Tamariki, researcher to Te Whatu Pōkeka (Kaupapa Māori Assessment for Learning) and part of the Te Whāriki 2017 (Early Childhood Curriculum) writing team. Reikura Kahi is confident that Brenda “will bring a wealth of experience from the education sector and a grassroots level perspective where she is committed to the education of our tamariki”.

We take this opportunity to welcome some new members to our Pae Motuhake (Kāhui investment panel): Hōne Sadler (Te Tai Tokerau), Tamzyn Pue and Hayley Galo (Te Tai Hauāuru) and Tunuarangi McLean (Te Reo Tukutuku-urban cluster).
Nau mai te pūkenga, nau mai te mana. Haramai te māramatanga, haramai te kaha.